ICEESM2018 Keynote & Plenary Speakers

Prof. Kyle Jiang

 University of Birmingham, UK

Biography: Kyle Jiang is a fellow of IET, fellow of HEA, and board member of HKSME. He was awarded PhD degree in mechanical engineering by King’s College London in 1994.
Kyle Jiang is a professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Birmingham. He is the Director of Micro/Nanotechnology Research Centre at University of Birmingham. His research interest covers microengines, turbochargers, micro and nano fabrication and nanostructures for energy and biomedical applications. He is active in organising and participating European projects, EPSRC projects and Innovate UK projects. He has over 230 publications in books, book chapters and research papers in peer reviewed journals and international conference proceedings, including Nature Communications, Journal of Power Sources, Optics Express, and Nanotechnology. He is the inventor of 9 patents.
Professor Jiang was the General Chair of IEEE 12th International Conference on Nanotechnology (IEEENANO 2012), general Co-Chair of NSTSI11, Publicity Chair of IEEE NANO 2013, and chaired many conference sessions. He is an editorial member of several International Journals, and appointed as Birmingham City Ambassador.



Prof. Tatiana Perova

Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin, Ireland  

Biography: Prof. Perova completed her PhD at Leningrad State University in 1979. She joined the staff of Vavilov State Optical Institute (St. Petersburg, Russia) in 1979, where she was involved in the characterization of condensed matter using far-infrared and Raman spectroscopy. In 1998 Prof. Perova took a position of the Research Director of Microelectronic Technology Laboratory (MTL) at Trinity College Dublin and from 2007 she is the Director of MTL. Since 2011 she is a Fellow of Trinity College Dublin and since 2013 she is a Fellow Emeritus. Prof. Perova’s research interests are principally related to the optical characterization of condensed matter, with an emphasis on the analysis of the composition, stoichiometry, molecular orientation, stress and strain in amorphous solids, liquid crystals, photonic crystals and semiconductors. She has over 270 publications in books and referred journals. Prof. Perova has given numerous invited talks at Universities and Research Institutes in Europe, Russia, Australia and Mexico and several invited and keynote talks at International Conferences. Prof. Perova is acting as a Reviewer Editor for the journal Frontiers: Frontiers in Materials and is a member of the Editorial Board of Asian Chemistry Letters journal.


Prof. Witold Daniel Dobrowolsk

Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland  

Biography: Dr. Witold Dobrowolski is a Professor at the Institute of Physics of the Polish Academy of Sciences. He has spent nearly all his academic career at this Institute. He conducted research on narrow gap semiconductors and diluted magnetic semiconductors (called also semimagnetic semiconductors). His principal scientific interests are: (a) Physics of crystal growth and material processing of compound semiconductors, alloys, and semimagnetic crystals;
(b) Electronic transport phenomena, magneto- and quantum transport in semiconductors;
(c) Narrow-gap semiconductors - band structure, impurity levels, transport phenomena;
(d) Semimagnetic semiconductors - electronic and magnetic properties, magnetic phase diagram.
Current research interest covers magnetic interactions in III-V, II-VI, and IV-VI compounds (bulks, thin films, and nanoparticles), mutual interactions between magnetic ions and free carriers.
He has co-authored more than 200 scientific publications and a few book chapters.
He is editor-in-chief of Acta Physica Polonica A.



Prof. Ji Wang

Ningbo University, China  

Biography: Professor Ji Wang has been a Qianjiang Fellow of Zhejiang Province at Ningbo University since 2002. Professor Ji Wang is the founding director of the Piezoelectric Device Laboratory, which is a designated Key Laboratory of City of Ningbo. Professor Ji Wang was employed at SaRonix, Menlo Park, CA, as a senior engineer from 2001 to 2002; NetFront Communications, Sunnyvale, CA, as senior engineer and manager from 1999 to 2001; Epson Palo Alto Laboratory, Palo Alto, CA, as Senior Member of Technical Staff from 1995 to 1999. Professor Ji Wang also held visiting positions at Chiba University, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and Argonne National Laboratory. He received his PhD and Master degrees from Princeton University in 1996 and 1993 and bachelor from Gansu University of Technology in 1983. Professor Wang has been working on acoustic waves in piezoelectric solids for resonator design and analysis in his research with US and Chinese patents and over 120 journal papers. Professor Wang has been a member of many international conference committees and currently serving the IEEE UFFC Technical Program Committees of the Frequency Control and Ultrasonics Symposia, the IEEE MTT-S, and the IEC TC-49. From 2015, Profess Wang is the editor-in-chief of Structural Longevity.





ICEESM2017 Speakers


Prof. Jordi Llorca  
Technical University of Catalonia, Spain  
Prof. Tatiana Perova
Trinity College Dublin, The University of Dublin, Ireland  
Prof. Witold Daniel Dobrowolski
Institute of Physics Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland   
Prof. Yuri V. Vorobiev
Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados del IPN,  MÉXICO   
Dr. Anna Baldycheva
University of Exeter, UK